House Transportation Chair Judy Clibborn among high-profile retirements

Rep. Judy Clibborn (D-41), long-time chair of the House Transportation Committee and a key architect of the $16 billion transportation package passed in 2015, announced her retirement from the Washington State Legislature.

“Transportation is about building bridges — and not just physical ones,” Clibborn said in a news release announcing her retirement. “It’s about listening to each other and connecting each part of our beautiful state to each other part. I’m proud of how we’ve cooperated to improve our highways, ferries, buses and trains during a time of massive population growth in our state. And finally, I want to thank my constituents for the honor.”

Rep. Clibborn was named AGC’s Legislator of the Year in 2010.

Other policymakers who have announced they are retiring from the Legislature:

  • Dan Kristiansen (R-39), House Minority Leader. Following his recent announcement, House Republicans announced new leadership: Rep. J.T. Wilcox (R-2) will be the Republicans’ new House Leader; Rep. Drew Stokesbary (R-31) will replace Wilcox as Floor Leader; Rep. Drew MacEwan (R-35) will replace Stokesbary as Assistant Floor Leader.

  • Michael Baumgartner (R-6) is leaving the State Senate to run for Spokane County Treasurer. This year, Sen. Baumgartner served as Ranking Republican on the Senate Labor and Commerce Committee; he previously chaired the committee until Democrats gained the majority in the Senate.

  • Ruth Kagi (D-32) has been chair of the House Early Learning and Human Services Committee since 2002.

  • Liz Pike (R-18)

  • Melanie Stambaugh (R-25)

  • Jay Rodne (R-5)

  • Jay Holy (R-6) is running for Sen. Baumgartner’s seat.

  • Rep Larry Haler (R-8)

  • Terry Nealey (R-16)