Close this search box.

This Election Season, Cast Your Ballot for…the Tacoma Narrows Bridge!

The Tacoma Narrows Bridge project is one of 10 signature transportation projects named as finalists for the prestigious Americas Transportation Award reflecting the best in management and innovation by the American Association of State Highway Transportation Officials (AASHTO).

Spectacular bridges toll and access roads innovative interchanges and interstates will now compete for the Grand National Prize – selected by a panel of community business and transportation leaders – and the Peoples Choice Award – which will be decided by an online voting process. On-line voting for the Peoples Choice Award continues through to Oct. 19. Cast your vote by clicking here.

Earlier this year Tacoma Narrows Constructors a joint venture of Kiewit Pacific Co. and Bechtel Construction Co. received the Grand Award for Construction through AGC of Washingtons Build Washington Awards.

The Americas Transportation Award recognizes achievement in the development and construction of transportation projects and instills an appreciation of transportation as a key element of our quality of life. Forty-one projects were entered into the Americas Transportation Awards competition with 23 chosen as regional winners narrowing the field to 10 finalists. The Tacoma Narrows Bridge project team won the regional competition among 18 western states in the category for on time delivery for projects exceeding $200 million.

We believe the New Tacoma Narrows Bridge was a special project that represents the best of what our people stand for – hard work determination and success said Transportation Secretary Paula Hammond. Now is the chance for the entire region to show the rest of the country that our project – on time and on budget – was the best of the best transportation projects in 2007.

The Grand National Prize-winning state will receive funds to support a graduate-level educational grant in the transportation field. The Peoples Choice Award will fund a community service project selected by the winning state department of transportation. Awards will be presented at the AASHTO Annual Meeting in Hartford Connecticut October 19.

The competition is cosponsored by the American Automobile Association (AAA) the U.S. Chamber of Commerce and AASHTO to bring public attention to transportation projects around the country that make a positive difference to people businesses and communities.

For complete information on each of the finalists and the voting ballot go to


Share this post