Close this search box.

Mowat Receives Spellman Safety Award

Evergreen Safety Council honored Mowat Construction as the 2011 recipient of the John D. Spellman Safety Award.

Evergreen Safety Council (ESC) has established this annual safety award in order to recognize member organizations who have demonstrated significant improvements or achievements in their safety program. The recipient is selected from applicants by an ESC Board of Directors committee and was presented at ESC’s Annual Membership meeting on March 28 2012.

“As an organization committed to building safe work environments for our clients and members we’re particularly pleased to recognize those companies that go above and beyond in building their safety cultures” said Tom Odegaard Evergreen Safety Council Executive Director. “Mowat Construction is one of those companies.”

Mowat Construction Companys highly-respected and dedicated team has been delivering quality projects safely and on time since 1964. Mowat’s drive for safety starts at the top with Chairman Mark Mowat President John Sandstrom and Safety Director Bruce McGaw. With Safety as a core value and a mission of becoming the safest and most respected contractor in the West it’s no wonder Mowat is recognized as a leader in the field.

Their safety program is based on a foundation of steady untiring improvement and employee accountability. “The Mowat Team is proud to receive this recognition from The Evergreen Safety Council said John Sandstrom President of Mowat Construction. “Keeping people safe is paramount to our success as an infrastructure contractor.”

The award also recognizes one of Washington’s great public servants John D. Spellman who was King County’s first elected County Executive and Washington’s 18th Governor. Governor Spellman has also been a member of Evergreen Safety Council’s Board of Directors for more than 30 years. In 1989 he served as President/Executive Director during a very critical period of restructuring and has served as Chairman of the Board of Directors since 1998.

Share this post