Close this search box.

Iowa Contractor Becomes First Woman to Lead AGC of America


Kristine Young AGC of America President

Kristine Young the chief executive officer of Des Moines Iowa-based Miller the Driller became the first woman to lead the U.S. construction industry. Young who was sworn in as president of the Associated General Contractors of America at the national convention in Las Vegas will oversee the trade group’s work on behalf of the commercial construction industry.

“I’m humbled that this association has always treated me as a fellow contractor that happens to be a woman instead of a woman that happens to be a contractor” said Young. “Being the first is never about being alone it took the time energy and encouragement of many people to get me here today.”

As president Young will oversee the association’s efforts to advocate for measures to boost demand for construction activity by enacting pro-growth tax and trade policies and making much-needed investments to the nation’s aging infrastructure. She will also work to overturn a new measure that forces governments at all levels to withhold three percent of the value of all major construction contracts beginning next year something she notes will add to an unemployment rate for the industry that already is over 20 percent.

Miller the Driller was established in 1948 by Kristine Youngs father Gene Miller. As a full service horizontal boring/tunneling and directional drilling company Miller the Driller delivers excellence in trenchless technology by using experienced crews and quality machinery. Young served as President of the company from 1982 to 2004 and now serves as CEO. She has served on numerous AGC committees was the first female president of the AGC of Iowa in 1995 and is AGC of Americas first female officer. In 2002 Young served as the Municipal & Utilities Division chair and has served on the board of directors for 12 years

In addition to Young the association inaugurated three other top leaders:

  • Joseph Jarboe senior vice president of Clark Construction Group Bethesda Md. became the association’s senior vice president.
  • Paul Diederich president of Industrial Builders Inc. West Fargo N.D. became the association’s vice president.
  • Howard Pebley president of McAllen Construction Inc. McAllen Texas became the association’s treasurer.

The three contractors will support Young in leading the trade group during their year-long tenure in office.

Share this post